I hear we’re supposed to have entered a new decade. Not that it matters much either way, but I think we have to wait another year for that.

I decided not to do any New Year’s resolutions, simply because they’re useless anyway–apart from one: self-discipline. I could do with a large dollop of that, to be honest.

I can do it, it’s just a matter of forcing myself to stick to something and not give up. Last November was a disaster with regard to writing, because I gave up on NaNoWriMo early on. I am sure I could have continued, despite the considerable translation work I had.

However, in December, I started taking brisk walks after lunch, and indeed did so almost every day, unless there wasn’t enough time or the weather was too bad. This serves a dual purpose: I get some exercise, and my lungs get some respite from the dry air inside (my nose especially benefits from that, which makes my ENT doctor happy–and myself, of course).

I hope I can apply that fledgling self-discipline to other areas as well. Tonight I’ll write some more on that short story Steve and I are doing. We’re in a bit of a hurry, so some considerable progress wouldn’t go amiss.

